Julie's Weigh…Time to Git Er Done…

Redneck phrase meaning to go ahead and complete a task

Everyone Goes On Their Journey Their Own Way

This is a post from my friend Summer B. She went on her weight loss journey with a gastric bypass. The story is pretty incredible and I thank her for sharing her information with me.
I just first want to start off by saying there is no right or wrong way to do what we are all doing, meaning loosing weight.  We all have a personal decision and have to do what is best for us.  For myself, I had tried every diet and gimmick available.  I knew that I did not want to end up having weight related health problems and wanted to have more energy and be able to keep up with my boys.  This was the toughest decision I have ever made, and although I did not ask for anyone’s approval of the way I went about it, most importantly I chose to surround myself with people who support my decision and my new lifestyle.  I had gastric bypass surgery on August 13, 2012.  This was a year-long process for me to be approved.  I had to go to 6 months of dietician visits and other appointments along the way which led to the year up to my surgery.  Two months after gastric bypass I then had to have my gall bladder removed.  Although I try very hard not to concentrate on the scale because I become obsessed with it and more on the sizes I am in and how I feel.  This choice for me was a life style choice and not a diet.  I knew that if I was going to be successful and continue to stay successful I had to make life long changes about the way I look at food and exercise.  Small steps are the easiest to start with.  At first I cut out all soda & then sugar.  This was a tough one, but as I look back, I don’t even miss it.  Next I just tried to watch my protein and water intake.  As a gastric bypass patient these are two of the most important things along with exercise.  Not everyone’s experience is the same, but here are some of my perspectives on the whole thing.  I hate talking about weight but I will say that when I started I was 305 lbs.  Today I weigh 154 lbs and just want to be able to maintain where I am now.  My doctor told me that If I could maintain between 150 and 180 that would be perfectly acceptable for my body.  Every day is a challenge that I look forward to.  My kids are my biggest supporters and cheering section.  I now fit into my 12 year old’s sweatshirts, which totally astonishes me.  I went from a size 26-28 jeans and am now in a 10-12.  Although this is not the right decision for everyone, it was the best choice for me and I think we can all gain advice and support no matter how we have decided to go about this tough decision.  I would be happy to answer any questions and support anyone on their personal journey.
Here is a couple pics from my journey:Summer 2
One comment on “Everyone Goes On Their Journey Their Own Way

  1. Summer
    January 14, 2013

    Thank you Julie for letting me share a little of my story:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2013 by .
