Julie's Weigh…Time to Git Er Done…

Redneck phrase meaning to go ahead and complete a task

Who Am I?

I was looking at the picture of me in facebook and the pictures I have of me now and I am AMAZED! I remember looking at a book my mom bought years ago. There was one chapter on age and how you perceive yourself as you get older. That chapter always hit home with me. I laugh thinking about it now. It showed a picture of you when you are in your 20’s 30’s 40’s and 50’s. When you are 20 you are young and firm and just coming into your own, turning 30 you are looking into having a career and your picture shows you as mature and secure with yourself. The 40’s you are aging a touch you are getting refined lines around your eyes “smile lines” my mom used to say. The book shows you pictures of 50 and it gives you two different perceptions the way other people see you and the way you picture yourself. I have always thought I looked like the picture in facebook. Reality sucks…

The picture of me in facebook was taken when Duane and I took scuba lessons. It was taken when we were married for 30 years. We planned on going to Hawaii for that anniversary but we couldnt afford it so we opted for scuba lessons. It was taken in 2002 when I was 51… sheesh why would I still believe I looked like that? I guess we don’t like to accept the fact we age. Mom used to say grow old gracefully. I have been forever graceful.

I look at pictures now and think “Who is that person” “That really can’t be me” “I don’t look like that I hope” Sheesh… Welcome to reality Garfield!

Duane and I will be married for 40 years in April of 2012 maybe we can go somewhere fun and take beautiful pictures of us. I can put a new picture in facebook after that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2011 by .
